Tags

, ,

As I began the steps…(did I mention I love steps? I speak a linear language.) As I began my steps it dawned on me, step 2: Read Scripture, is eventually going to be applied to reading other passages beyond the 3 verses she’s given me as prompters. Glad I figured that one out!

Finally made it through my chapter of Devotional Reading, winning! Also realized the steps I grabbed ahold of on Day 1, were the steps outlined in the introduction… a general way in which to start a discipline. As I actually read the chapter of Devotional Reading discipline, the author, lays out specifically how lectio divinia was practiced in the early church when people were illiterate or didn’t have access to the Bible. Devotional Reading is how the first 1500 years of church fed on the word of God.

Silencio, Lectio, Meditation, Oratio, and Contempatio. The early church would only maybe hear the Word in church on Sundays and have that word all week to feed them. The early church had a discipline of absorbing God’s Word: Calming their heart, expecting to meet God, hear the Word, meditate on His Word, grabbing hold of the parts that nourished them, then dialogue with God about what He provided to them when they asked, finally contemplate the meaning, the timing, the words, the action He’s highlighted.

That is the God of creation speaking to you! (((Sigh)))

I did this in my journal… figuring out while I’m not sentimental I like to write during my time with Jesus to track, to pray, to wrestle.

  • Silencioprepare your heart.
  • LectioI read the suggested passage, Mark 10:46-52, Jesus heals the blind man. Notes: The blind man wants something from Jesus, and Jesus does not withhold from him, but He does ask for something of the blind man.
  • Meditatioread again, savor, reflect. Notes: Bartemaeus was desperate to see, desperate for Jesus, he shouted, he threw his coat, he jumped up and came to Jesus. In the introduction of this book, Spiritual Discipline Handbook, the author talks how God works with people using their desires to draw them into Himself- these desires opened doors to a relationship with Him. “He attends to the hole in their heart,” she writes (page 16 & 17). He hears their desire and calls them to action, an obedience, a spiritual practice. With Bartimaeus, he wanted sight, Jesus called him and his faith healed him. The blind mans plee was desperate and simple, and Jesus’ response was equally faithful and simple.
  • Oratio respond to passage, read again, dialogue with God about your reflections. Notes: this is where my resistance kicks in. I actually literally walked away for 20 min and avoided coming back. Keeping busy with the usual: insta, fb, snack… ugh. My resistance is vulnerability! Clearly I have a problem being vulnerable. And the opposite of vulnerable = walls! Name and claim it…

Lord, I want you to know me. Vulnerability goes both ways and I’m here begging you to open and reveal Yourself to me and I’m sitting here across the room with my arms crossed – geesh! I’m so stubborn.

  • Contemplatiolet it all sink in. Notes: pick a word to stay with you today as you wrestle. My word: open.

Didn’t get to the questions or exercises today. That’s ok. Baby steps. Peace out.


